What are the charter speed tests and how do you know if you’re eligible?

What are charter speed testing (CTTs)?

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has conducted the national CTT since its inception in 1997.

The first such CTT, the State Highway Test (SHT) was conducted in 1999.

In 2012, the NHTSA started testing states, territories and localities for the test.

The SHT was expanded to include state and local speed limits and the first statewide CTT was conducted on January 18, 2019. 

For more than a decade, the SHT has been administered by the National Center for State Courts, a division of the U.S. Justice Department.

NHTSCs are also administered by local and state governments, which in turn administer CTTs in their jurisdictions. 

The results of the SOH are sent to the states, cities and counties that administer the tests, as well as to the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration, which oversees the tests. 

“The speed limit on the road varies, depending on where the vehicle is, the highway and whether there are traffic signals or not,” said John Roeser, NHTS administrator.

“We also want to make sure we don’t allow people to run a red light at high speeds, which could increase the chances of an accident.” 

The SOH is conducted by NHTC, which is a division within the U;s Department of Justice.

The NHTSB also conducts the national test. 

NHTSC has been conducting CTTs since at least 1997. 

To find out whether you’re qualified for the CTT test, call your state’s Department of Transportation at 1-800-926-1234.

The test results can be found here: National CTT results for states, localities, and counties. 

Check out this article for more information on the Soh test.

“We’ve worked hard to ensure that every driver is assessed for speed at the same time,” Roesers said. 

You may also want, click here to see a sample of the results. 

Do I need to take a test? 

A federal court ruling in June 2017 upheld a ban on the CTTs, stating that they were too difficult and could increase accidents.

But in June 2018, a federal appeals court reversed that decision, stating a driver who passed the test and was found to be a “high-risk” person could not be required to take it again. 

Can I take the test again? 


You can take the CTTS again in the future.

If you take the next CTT in 2018, you’ll need to pass the new test.

What if I have a family member with epilepsy? 

The U.K. government has approved a ban in certain cases, including for people with severe epilepsy.

The National Council for the Protection of the Epilepsy (NCPE) says a person can be deemed “high risk” if they have: an impaired ability to reason (such as a learning disability, cognitive impairment, epilepsy or epilepsy that interferes with their ability to comprehend information); a family history of epilepsy; a history of seizures in which a person has passed the speed limit at high speed; an inability to slow down; or a person who is prone to having accidents at high or speed. 

Should I take a CTT again?

You can take a new test if you passed it in the past and the new CTT is still pending.

If your current test results are valid, but the new results are invalid, the test is invalid and you must take a different test.